Workshop on Long Range Plan for High Pressure Earth Sciences

Meeting Prospectus

The scientific goals of this meeting include: (1) discussing recent scientific successes of the high-pressure mineral physics community; and (2) articulating in what directions our research could evolve over the next decade. The former goal is retrospective, and incorporates how our field has impacted other subdisciplines of the earth sciences, including seismology, geodynamics and petrology. The latter goal represents a challenge: what are the next major breakthroughs of our community, and what infrastructure will be necessary to achieve them? While recognizing that incremental progress will occur, what new and different developments could occur? And, what long-standing problems might we solve?

The product that we anticipate will arise from this meeting will be a new scientific plan for high-pressure mineral physics: a document that will not only serve as a blueprint for our community as it moves forward, but will also serve as the input of our community to a new NAS report, commissioned by NSF, on Basic Research Opportunities in the Earth Sciences (BROES).  Quentin Williams will serve as Editor-in-Chief of this successor to the 2004 Bass Report.


   Name                                                   Institution
Carl B. Agee University of New Mexico
Paul D. Asimow California Institute of Technology
Jay D. Bass University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Amy Bengtson University of Michigan
J. Michael Brown University of Washington
Bruce Buffett University of California Berkeley
Pamela C Burnley University of Nevada at Las Vegas
Andrew Campbell University of Maryland
Wang-Ping Chen University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Anastasia Chopelas University of California Los Angeles
Simon Clark Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Lisa R Danielson NASA Johnson Space Center
Yang Ding Carnegie Institution of Washington
Jianjun Dong Auburn University
Wyatt L Du Frane Arizona State University
Thomas S. Duffy Princeton University
William B. Durham Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lars Ehm Stony Brook University
Sonia Esperanca National Science Foundation
Rodney C Ewing University of Michigan
Daniel L. Farber Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Yingwei Fei Carnegie Institution of Washington
Edward Garnero Arizona State University
Alexander F Goncharov Carnegie Institution of Washington
Harry W. Green University of California Riverside
Malcolm Guthrie Argonne National Laboratory
Gabriel D Gwanmesia Delaware State University
Ulrich Haussermann Arizona State University
Russell J. Hemley Carnegie Institution of Washington
Marc M Hirschmann University of Minnesota
Jennifer M Jackson California Institute of Technology
Chi-Chang Kao Brookhaven National Laboratory
Shun-Ichiro Karato Yale University
Abby Kavner University of California Los Angeles
Boris Kiefer New Mexico State University
Thorne Lay University of California Santa Cruz
Kanani K. M. Lee Yale University
Kurt Leinenweber Arizona State University
Charles E Lesher University of California Davis
Jie Li University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Li Li Stony Brook University
Robert C Liebermann COMPRES
Jung-fu Lin Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Zhenxian Liu Carnegie Institution of Washington
Shengnian Luo Los Alamos National Laboratory
Murli H Manghnani University of Hawaii
William F McDonough University of Maryland
Allen K McNamara Arizona State University
Hans J. Mueller GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
Alexandra Navrotsky University of California Davis
Malcolm Nicol University of Nevada at Las Vegas
Richard J. O'Connell Harvard University
Artem R Oganov Stony Brook University
Wendy R Panero Ohio State University
John B Parise Stony Brook University
Vitali Prakapenka University of Chicago
Charles T Prewitt University of Arizona
Robin Reichlin National Science Foundation
Glenn A Richard Stony Brook University
Mark Rivers University of Chicago
Nancy L. Ross Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Universit
Thomas Sharp Arizona State University
Guoyin Shen Carnegie Institution of Washington
Sang-Heon Shim Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Adam C Simon University of Nevada at Las Vegas
Stanislav V Sinogeikin Carnegie Institution of Washington
Joseph R Smyth University of Colorado
Emmanuel Soignard Arizona State University
Nicole Staab Arizona State University
Lars Stixrude University of Michigan
Emil Stoyanov Arizona State University
Wolfgang Sturhahn Argonne National Laboratory
Oliver Tschauner University of Nevada at Las Vegas
Chris A. Tulk Oak Ridge National Laboratory
James Tyburczy Arizona State University
James A Van Orman Case Western Reserve University
Emily Vance COMPRES
David Walker Columbia University
Yanbin Wang University of Chicago
Donald J Weidner Stony Brook University
Renata Wentzcovitch University of Minnesota
Quentin C Williams University of California Santa Cruz
Tony Withers University of Minnesota
Jun Wu Arizona State University
Hasan Yavas University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Chunpeng Zhao Arizona State University
Yusheng Zhao Los Alamos National Laboratory

Plenary Talks

Plenary Theme 1:  The Deeper Reaches of the Planet: Properties of Iron and its Alloys and the Novel Materials of the Deepest Mantle

  • Structure and Dynamics of the Earth's Core-Mantle Boundary

Plenary Speaker Bruce Buffett, UC Berkeley

  • How Material Properties Affect Our View of the Deep Earth

Plenary Speaker Jennifer Jackson, Caltech


Plenary Theme 2:  The Dynamic Ceramic Mantle

  • Seismological Structures in the Deep Mantle and Core: Challenges for Mineral Physics

Plenary Speaker Thorne Lay, UCSC

  • Silicate Melts and Melting Throughout the Mantle: Progress and Prospects

Plenary Speaker Paul Asimow, Caltech

  • Rheological Properties of Planetary Materials

Plenary Speaker Shun Karato, Yale


Plenary Theme 3:  Mineral Physics and Society

Trickle-down Science: Societal Impact of Mineral Physics

Plenary Speaker Rod Ewing, U Michigan

Deep Earth Volatile Cycles

Plenary Speaker Marc Hirschmann, U Minn


Plenary Theme 4:  Enabling Cutting-Edge Science: Tools and the Accomplishments they will drive in the Next Decade of Discovery

High-Pressure Geoscience: New Tools and Expanding Outreach

Plenary Speaker Russell Hemley, Carnegie Institution

Protons to Planets: Advances and Prospects in Computational Mineral Physics

Plenary Speaker Lars Stixrude, UC London

Workshop Dates: 
Monday, March 2, 2009 to Wednesday, March 4, 2009
Workshop Location: 
Fiesta Resort Tempe , AZ