Minutes of the COMPRES Executive Committee Meeting January 26, 2018

Using GotoMeeting

Present: Carl Agee (President), Abby Kavner (Chair), Baosheng Li, Jackie Li, Steve Jacobsen (meeting note taker), Mark Rivers (Facilities Committee) Absent: Przemek Dera (Vice Chair), Suki Dorfmann (EOID Committee)

AGENDA

11:00 (PST) Consent agenda: approve minutes from January 19, 2018 (Abby)11:03 Annual meeting speakers (Steve)11:10 Facility proposal discussion (Mark)12:00 Adjourn

MINUTES

11:00 (PST)

Abby asked if there were comments on the minutes from January 19, 2018. Baosheng made a motion to approve the minutes as submitted, seconded by Abby. The minutes were approved by unanimous voice vote.

11:03

Discussion of speakers for annual meeting (Steve and Carl). The 2108 annual meeting program committee, chaired by Heather Watson, forwarded a list of names to the ExComm for consideration. The list is of individuals representing the areas of geophysics, geodynamics, computation, planetary chemistry, exoplanets, and dynamic compression. The ExComm gave its approval to the list of names and also suggested two additional names which Carl and Steve will forward to Heather.

11:10

Facilities Discussion (Mark) One new facility proposal was discussed. Four existing facility proposals were discussed. Three remaining facility proposals will be discussed next week.

12:00

Abby moves to adjourn. Steve seconds. Adjourned.